找回密码
 注册入学

QQ登录

只需一步,快速开始

查看: 2521|回复: 0

3 questions to ask yourself before accepting a job offer

[复制链接]
 楼主| 发表于 2015-8-1 16:38:04 | 显示全部楼层 |阅读模式
A little over five years ago, I thought I had finally found mycalling. I had worked hard to build a consulting business that was not just thriving, but also bringing me challenging, interesting work with terrific agencies. More importantly, I was at a point in my career where I had the time and flexibility to also focus on my life’s passion–advocating for children in Rwanda. I have been traveling to Rwanda for the past nine years to support New Hope Homes, an organization devoted to the care and education of orphaned children.
   大约5年前,我认为自己终于找到了人生目标。我一直在努力打造一家咨询公司,这家公司的事业蒸蒸日上,而且有非常好的客户,总能给我带来具有挑战性而且非常有趣的工作。更重要的是,当时我正处在职业生涯一个绝佳的时期,我有足够的时间和灵活性,这让我可以同时专注于我所热爱的事业——倡导保护卢旺达的儿童。过去9年来,我经常前往卢旺达,支持致力于照顾与教育孤儿的“新希望家庭”组织。
    Then something unexpected happened. What began as a one-day consulting gig with media agency Carat USA, turned into a year of back-to-back projects. It was inspiring and energizing work, but I was committed to my consulting job. But later that year, Nigel Morris, then the CEO of Aegis Media North America (the parent company of Carat USA) asked me to join the company as CMO of North America. I was faced with a tough choice: do I take a chance and leave the consulting business that supported my life and passions so perfectly, or make a change and pursue something uncharted that had incredible potential? When contemplating a make or break moment in your career, remember to ask yourself these three questions:
       后来发生了一件意想不到的事情。我最初为媒体公司Carat USA提供了只有一天的临时咨询服务,后来却变成长达一年的连续项目。这份工作让我深受启发,也倍受鼓舞,但我仍专注于自己的咨询工作。但那一年晚些时候,时任安吉斯媒体(Aegis Media,Carat USA母公司)北美区CEO的尼格尔·莫里斯邀请我加入他的公司,担任北美区CMO。我当时面临一个艰难的选择:冒险离开咨询公司,尽管这份工作让我生活无忧,并且支持我追求自己热爱的事业;或者做出一些改变,去追求有着巨大潜力的神秘未来?面对职业生涯中的决定性时刻,你应该问问自己下面三个问题: