找回密码
 注册入学

QQ登录

只需一步,快速开始

查看: 2680|回复: 0

3 things to do to become a CEO by age 30

[复制链接]
 楼主| 发表于 2015-8-1 16:38:37 | 显示全部楼层 |阅读模式
When, at age 24, I told my boss (somewhat tongue in cheek) that I wanted to become a CEO, he nearly fell off his chair. It was 1974; I was a software developer working for IBM IBM 0.42% . At that time, lowly engineers were not expected to aspire to roles reserved for successful salespeople.
   24岁时,我半开玩笑地告诉老板我想当CEO,他几乎从椅子上掉下来。那是1974年,我还在IBM当软件开发员。那时,没有人觉得一个小工程师应该奢望坐上专为金牌销售预留的位置。
    But my boss’ guidance helped me take a hard look at myself and make becoming the CEO a real objective. I eventually achieved my goal 30 years later at Business Objects, but it took a lot of careful planning, as well as focus and determination.
       但在老板的指点下,我认真做了一番自我审视,把当上CEO真正作为了目标。最终,30年后,我在Business Objects公司实现了这一目标,但期间付出了大量的精心规划,以及专注和决心。
    Today, the path to becoming a CEO can look very different, particularly within tech and internet startups. But the skills required to be an effective leader are the same as ever. These skills typically take a life of experience to acquire, but there are ways to overcome that time challenge. Here are three things you should do to qualify as CEO material, even if you are short on life experience — but still big on energy and bold ideas:
       今时今日,成为CEO的路径看上去有了非常大的变化,特别是在那些科技和互联网初创企业。但成为得力领导者所需要的那些技能一如既往。它们通常需要靠长期实践来获得,但有些方法可以克服这个时间上的障碍。就算你阅历不足,但只要敢想敢干,做好以下三件事,你也能成为合格的CEO。
    1. Build a team to compensate for your shortcomings.
       1. 组建一个团队来补己所短
    Even a seasoned executive needs a sounding board of people who can offer guidance, particularly for areas that fall outside his or her core expertise. For young leaders, this is essential, to avoid serious mistakes. Lack of experience can lead to very painful consequences: hiring the wrong people, spending too much money, getting stuck with bad contract terms, or falling afoul of the law — to name just a few.